Writing Tips

Today, I’m starting with one of the hardest things, especially for the brand new to writing: how do you begin?

It all starts with an idea. It can be a single, uncomplicated idea, or maybe the whole plot come to you all at once.

I’m going to skip over the jotting down of ideas and outlining of plots because that isn’t how I write. I start with one idea, if I’m lucky a few of them. I’ve tried doing the whole plot first and it doesn’t work for me. I write best with little idea of what will come, because my writing seldom ends up like my original thought, but it is always better.

Barbara Chioffi graciously supplied a word for me so I’d have no previous ideas. I also thought of tuna. I will use both words.

Now, the main thing is to start strong, to get and keep a person’s interest.

“Oh shit!” Tom exclaimed as he watched the ticket fire leap right over the firebreak he and other firefighters had dug in the dry earth.

Bob fell to the floor, his pulse thready and foam coming out of his mouth as the bite of tuna slid into his stomach.

Don’t worry if you can’t start that big. It takes practice for most people. Do try to make it big, but start.

Tom learned today what a firebreak was.  OR Bob made his favorite sandwich, tuna salad.

Both are better than not writing. Start with what comes into your head. Often the rest of the words will come to you. Even if you have to scrap what you wrote and start over, or go back and make what you wrote more exciting, at least you have taken that first step.

NOTE TO WRITERS. I POST THESE TIPS BECAUSE I WANT TO HELP. PLEASE POST ANY QUESTIONS OR COMMENTS. I WILL ANSWER THEM ALL.

Leave a Reply

